What is considered "a lot" of miles for a motorcycle? - Cycle Forums: Motorcycle and Sportbikes Forum
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 31 (permalink) Old 10-07-2007, 05:33 PM Thread Starter
pie
Loose cannon

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
What is considered "a lot" of miles for a motorcycle?

I'm new to the motorcycle world and this is something I've been thinking about. For a car, 30,000 miles is very new, 60K is very good, and from 100K up it starts to get iffy. Are miles for bikes any different and if so, why?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 31 (permalink) Old 10-07-2007, 06:36 PM
Resident Slowpoke

i don't think a motorcycle has high miles until 100k ;P

BUT that assumes that YOU know EXACTLY what kind of riding and maintenance was done on that engine.

There are some bikes out there that i wouldn't buy, even if they only had 500 proven miles on them.

In cars the iffy probably can easily be pushed to 200K with modern materials and parts.

"I'd rather go riding than not." -- Ron "Cyclenerd" Paulsen 1951-2004

Your wit, wisdom, and demeanor will be sorely missed.
Thank you for sharing so much with so many!
post #3 of 31 (permalink) Old 10-07-2007, 07:28 PM
Ladies love fatbuck's Cupcakes

Re: What is considered "a lot" of miles for a motorcycle?

Quote:
Originally posted by pie
I'm new to the motorcycle world and this is something I've been thinking about. For a car, 30,000 miles is very new, 60K is very good, and from 100K up it starts to get iffy. Are miles for bikes any different and if so, why?
In general. Bikes die because of
poor maintenance
crashed.

Otherwise will last as long as a car. Certain models have design issues but in general. Mileage should not be your biggest concern.

Have you seen my Premium Member?
post #4 of 31 (permalink) Old 10-07-2007, 07:40 PM Thread Starter
pie
Loose cannon