Cycle Forums: Motorcycle and Sportbikes Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts
B

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My friend is looking into getting a new bike. Hes been riding an R6 for about a year and a half and just wants more power. Hes doesn't go he track but he does hit the twisties out on some back roads pretty hard, with a little stunting on the sides, nothing major, just wheelies and stoppies. He really likes the look of the R1 and 954, I have ridden an older R1 and loved it but I have no experience with hondas. The guys that just did a clutch on our bikes PREACHES hondas and says they are more durable and just plain better built than a R1. So what would yall say are advantages of a 954 over an R1 and disadvantages? Prices, comfort, and performance. I really appriciate the input. :twofinger:

·
Moderator,
16,949 Posts
Depends on what years you are talking about...

But the best answer... It's all in the rider. They are so close by the one you want. Stat pages are worthless.

BTW, the guys that just did your clutch are full of it... My R1 hasn't give me a single problem in 2 years and 13,000 miles. Then again neither did my Honda's.

B

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
well i've heard the yami has a shaky front end, but i heard its more comfortable. Are there anyups or downs of the 2? taking 03 here?

·
Registered
4,834 Posts
I don't think you could go wrong w/ either one. I'd prob. pick the 954 b/c I really like it's ergos for street use, and the trunk is cool, too...but the R1 looks better and has better track ergos.

You could almost decide based on which one looks better to you.

·
Moderator,
16,949 Posts
badhabityami said:
well i've heard the yami has a shaky front end, but i heard its more comfortable. Are there anyups or downs of the 2? taking 03 here?