Cycle Forums: Motorcycle and Sportbikes Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2,584 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Before I get insulted, I am also completely new to riding :p

I've been looking at Tricktape's riding gear and a few pieces caught my eye.

Leathers
http://www.tricktape.com/product.asp?0=203&1=204&3=1038

I like this just because I like 1 piece better, and for a leather suit, I can't see any downsides.

Textiles
I'm really not sure what to pick for textiles. I'm really not sure why to pick Textiles over leathers for me, but the main attraction is that quite a few of them are completely waterproof, and it'd be nice to have my riding gear the same as my rain gear also.

Helmets
The ROOF helmets look nice, but I just don't really enjoy the idea of ordering a helmet online until I've tried it on in person. Can I get a few recommendations of a few more popular helmets that are good? Thanks.

Gloves
http://www.tricktape.com/product.asp?0=203&1=205&3=1288

The Highside gloves look great and sound great. I just need more suggestions and comments from people please. :)

Boots
http://www.tricktape.com/product.asp?0=203&1=274&3=642

Looked at those, and felt that they were alright. Again, need more ideas on what to look for.

Raingear
If the gear that is suggested/listed is not waterproof, can you suggest some raingear for me? Thanks :)

Thanks for all the anticipated help :)

·
Forum Leader,
17,387 Posts
Most of that gear is not completely waterproof, but more like water resistant. A light sprinkle, no problem, but if it pours, you'll know it...

I have heard of people using camp-dry and similar products on their leathers, but I wouldn't do that personally.

Bike shops will have rain gear that is designed to fit the body's form when riding, thus doing a better job than the stuff at wal-mart, but at a much higher price. Personally, I think the cheap stuff works pretty good, but I don't have to ride in rain very often.