Cycle Forums: Motorcycle and Sportbikes Forum banner

1 - 20 of 201 Posts

·
Registered
1,444 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As I am fairly new to this lovely community, I have not had the opportunity to get to know each of you wonderful people......but I HAVE noticed some pretty strange user names.... If you would be so kind....please take a moment to clue the rest of us into how and why you chose your screen names.

I guess I will start. Back in my early years of riding, luck and intelligence were not on my side. Over a 3 year period I wrecked 5 times........totalling 3 bikes......and breaking many, many bones. I have broken both legs, my left knee cracked, 3 bones in my left foot broken, too many bones to count in my right foot, and I temporarily lost my big toe on my right foot (sewed it back on and most of it lived. :) )

In my first accident, I went over a cliff at Deal's Gap and people had to repel down to get me..........very embarrassing.

My biggest accident involved my stupid ass not paying attention and running a red light. Got T-boned. That is where my right foot was crushed (and almost removed... :( ) and my big toe got its new pointed unbending shape. On top of that........it was "too hot" (NEVER AGAIN) to wear my gear so I had my jacket strapped to the back of my bike. When the car hit me, I slid down the pavement for a measured 110 feet (in the accident report) in a damn TANK-TOP!!!! My friends lovingly called me RoadRashed while I lay in bed with the massive body-covering bandages for about 6 weeks.... Took me several months to be able to walk again and had to use crutches for almost 1 year. (Got a handicap permit to use at college though! Great for parking....... :rolleyes:)

From that day on, I don't care if it is 100 degrees.......I will have my gear on. :laughing

After THAT accident I had my other 3 "accidents" from doing various stupid things in the mountains........