Cycle Forums: Motorcycle and Sportbikes Forum banner
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
4,365 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Its COLD here in Indiana, so I decided to get some heated handgrips. This is my first time installing something like this. But I would consider myself at least a little mechanically competent. I installed my own rear shock and stuff like that (thanks to DIY articles such as this)

I saw these grips advertized elsewhere on the net made my Dual-star for 29.99. Remembering the Tricktape can match/beat almost any advertized price, I gave Shawn a call. Sure enough they were able to get them...for 25 bucks! Score I was sold.
A few days later I got them in and was ready to go to work.

So I went to my friend's heated garage (rode 20 minutes in 20 degrees to get there. BURRR!)

I laid out all the parts...

And my hawk was all ready for surgery..

First thing was to take off the old grips and clean the grip area VERY well. The instructions say to use alcohol -but I couldn't find any so I used brake cleaner. Then I used some water and a paper towel to scrub it down REAL good -and let it dry.

After you remove both grips and clean the contact area VERY well, peel off the backing to the heater element and wrap it around the handlebar as per the instructions say. Then push out all the air bubbles.